PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Pro's, RE: Inner wheel cleaning/glue removal...?

Pages : [1] 2

Inthedeck
11-29-2017, 11:49 AM
Hey all, I have a quick question. I searched a bunch, but, couldn't find an answer.

I have a set of rims that came off my old car. The rims are a couple of years old, and in pretty darn good shape on the 'face' of the rim. It's the 'inside' that I want to figure out how to clean. Since the rim takes 'strip' type weights, each time they were balanced, the old strip was taken off, and a new one added where needed. Of course, this left behind the residue of the old glue from the previous weights. What's a good product to use to remove the stuck on glue/residue on the inside of the rim?

Thanks in advance,
MC

Desertnate
11-29-2017, 11:55 AM
I'm not a pro, but I've found a plastic razor blade and Stoner's Tarminator to be a great tool in removing all manner of adhesive left-overs.

Inthedeck
11-29-2017, 11:56 AM
Thanks, will look into it...I'd prefer to sell them in as new condition as possible...so, I'll give that a whirl. :)

JMak97008
11-29-2017, 11:59 AM
Hey all, I have a quick question. I searched a bunch, but, couldn't find an answer.

I have a set of rims that came off my old car. The rims are a couple of years old, and in pretty darn good shape on the 'face' of the rim. It's the 'inside' that I want to figure out how to clean. Since the rim takes 'strip' type weights, each time they were balanced, the old strip was taken off, and a new one added where needed. Of course, this left behind the residue of the old glue from the previous weights. What's a good product to use to remove the stuck on glue/residue on the inside of the rim?

Thanks in advance,
MC