PDA

View Full Version : Headlight Hologram Mystery

tattooman
11-28-2017, 11:10 AM
Headlight Hologram Mystery

So, I did some headlight restoration a couple days ago (remember please I'm new to detailing). The lenses were moderately cloudy starting out. So I wet sanded with 800, 1500, and 2000. Then I used M105 with a 3 inch orange foam pad with a PC 7424xp, followed by M205 with a pink 3 inch foam pad. The problem is that after a final IPA wipedown, I saw a hologram in one of the headlights. So I went at it again with 205, but it wouldn't come out. It wasn't severe, and I was running out of time, so I sealed them up with JetSeal and called it done. I told my friend I'd research it and address it later if I could figure out what I did wrong, even though he doesn't really care, he's glad his headlights are clear for the next state vehicle inspection. So anyway here are my questions:

1. Was that thing actually a hologram ? If it was a hologram it seems I could have polished it out with the 205, which didn't work.

2. If it's not a hologram, is there anything in restoring headlight lenses that looks like a hologram but actually isn't ? If so what is it ?

3. If it's not a hologram, is it possible it could be something inside the plastic lens itself, ie, not on the surface ?

4. Could it be heat damage from me, by concentrating too much pressure for too long with the 3 inch pad ? It did get slightly warm, since I was putting my hand on the pad periodically to check the temperature.

5. Whatever else.

Any advice or analysis is much appreciated.

Route246
11-28-2017, 11:15 AM
I would start over. I had this happen and it was because my original sanding (I used 1000 for the original, you are using 800) was not thorough enough.

brettS4
11-28-2017, 11:35 AM
I agree with Route246. I had a similar issue with my Audi headlights a couple years ago. I had to go back to wet sanding to get rid of the holograms. After that, and M105/205 it came out perfect.

Mantilgh