PDA

View Full Version : Probably some silly detailing questions but...

Pages : [1] 2

VickMacky
11-06-2017, 07:27 PM
I still want to ask. I'll say I'm not new to detailing but I am new to being efficient and effective at it while doing it right. Many thanks in advance.

1- With a quality PH neutral car shampoo (currently using Griots brilliant finish), is it ok to wash the whole vehicle (shade and sun) and then rinse rather than washing a panel and rinse? Will it leave spots or runs? I know foaming is the new hotness but that's an investment for next year.

2- Does using a detail spray as a drying aid diminish it's effectiveness? Common sense says yes because it's diluted but what do I know.

I think there was another one but I'll edit later when I remember.

rangerbay
11-06-2017, 08:24 PM
Personal opinion, and I'm no expert, but I don't like to leave soap on the paint if it's in the sun. You have to rinse it anyhow, just do it then. I also like to keep spraying the car with water often while washing the rest of the car to keep it from drying out and water spotting. I do like to let soap dwell for a little bit if its in a cool spot out of the sun. Detail spray helps drying, and helps to keep spotting down. I don't know if it diminishes the effectiveness of the spray, but it sure helps in drying. The car is clean, so the spray probably doesn't need to be real effective.

Bill

VickMacky
11-06-2017, 08:38 PM
Thanks Bill. I try and read and search and it seems a lot of people just leave the soap on the car and do one rinse but I've always been like you, rinse often. It just sucks that I have no shade really and I'm trying to go about the best way to wash quickly while also not getting spots in the sun. I thought leaving the soap on would prevent it.

rangerbay
11-06-2017, 08:41 PM
I think the soap drying on the car is never good. Have you used ONR or one of the rinseless washes?

Bill

Kamakaz1961
11-06-2017, 08:44 PM