PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Glaze vs. Wax vs. Sealant

03 4TR
01-16-2008, 10:33 PM
Ok, I am pretty new to detailing. Although I did just complete my second semi-large order from AutoGeek.net and am trying to do some research and learning while I wait out the Ohio winter.

Right now I trying to learn about Sealant vs. Waxes. With my last order I bought XMT #3, XMT #1 and some Finishing Glaze to work on my wife's black Altima and my silver 4Runner. After getting swirls and imperfections out of the Altima, I was planning on finishing it off with the Glaze and then some Souveran.

While it sounds like that will give me a good shine, I feel like that for a black daily driver Sealant might be the way to go. If that is the case, is my best best to skip the Glaze and go straight from XMT #1 to the Sealant, something like Wolfgang's or NXT? What do you guys think?

I hoping I can get better at this swirl remover this year with the black car. It is killing me to see the swirls and imperfections. I am watching the videos and been itching for the weather to get warmer!!!

makdaddy626
01-16-2008, 10:53 PM
My understanding is that a sealant will protect longer but not necessarily better than a good wax. I, like many on here, prefer to put a coat of sealant down and then top it with a wax, for looks and protection. Having the sealant underneath gives the benefit of knowing that if I don't get to wax again as soon as I'd like, everthing should stay protected. Hope that helps.

ScottB
01-17-2008, 05:51 PM
Finishing Glaze --- normally a product containing some filling ability to hide any light swirls. Some contain a small amount of protection and some glossing agents to shine deeper.

Wax --- a pure carnuaba wax is a LSP product used to protect the work done while preping the surface. Usually very wet in look, and deeper than synthetic waxes but durability is limited and re-application is needed more frequently.