PDA

View Full Version : How Often to clay, polish and or wax?

skiwez
01-16-2008, 01:50 PM
Hi,

I'm relatively new to detailing, but have been learning alot from this board, but the more I learn, the more I seem to get concerned.

The concern I have is that it seems that all of the products except for carnuaba waxes seem to be a abrasive of some sort, Be it a clay bar, polishes, All-In-One synthetics like Klasse.

In the end what I'm trying to do is make my car look the best possible and protect the finish. But all of these products while they fix the finish now eventually they are going to break through. How often can we safely clay, polish and wax before it completly destroys the paint.

Thanks

Z06-Goose
01-16-2008, 02:39 PM
Clay when used properly i.e; lots of lube, shouldn't damage your paint. It's also dictated by the enviroment whre you live, driving habits, and if the car really needs to be clayed
That said, you can check your finish using the baggie test to see if the paint needs to be clayed. I think polishing your paint too much using abrasive compounds, can eventually reduce your clearcoat protection...not claying

Bert31
01-16-2008, 02:42 PM
When it comes to claying, paint cleaners, all-in-ones, sealants and waxes you don't need to worry about damaging/removing clear or paint.

When it comes to polishing, if you don't go crazy using compound polish, you should be OK. Try to limit your compound polishing to once a year at most. Finish polishes are not near as aggressive as compound polishes so you could probably use a finish polish twice a year if you wanted and be OK.

To answer the question of the thread: How Often to clay, polish and or wax? I detail my car twice a year. Detailing for me is wash, clay, AIO, sealant. If my paint starts showing swirling, I will include polishing to a detail which would come after claying and before AIO. In between my details, I will clay and put another coat of sealant on my car.