PDA

View Full Version : It's the new guy

sjw515
09-17-2017, 10:38 AM
Hey everybody. My name is Scott from North Carolina. I have always had a passion for cars but I am new to detailing and I would like to learn more!! My current car is 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP. I am having some issues with the paint, particularly on the roof. I will post some pictures of the car and the issues with the paint... I could really use some advice! I believe it is just oxidation and sun damage is the issue but I could be wrong.. Thanks guys.

It wasn't letting me upload pictures for some reason.. But here is the link to my photobucket with pictures of the car.

sweisch515's Library | Photobucket (http://s1028.photobucket.com/user/sweisch515/library/?sort=3&page=1)

Paul A.
09-17-2017, 10:51 AM
First off welcome to AGO, Scott.

From those pictures it unfortunately looks like clearcoat failure on the roof. If that's the case there isn't anything to cut, buff or polish. I certainly hope I'm wrong. However, if it is CC failure nothing will fix it short of a repaint. The shiny paint surrounding the dull failed areas can be brightened up but be mindful that the shiny clearcoat is most likely very very thin so go extremely light and careful so as to not remove the thin remaining clear.

The rest of the paint that is still shiny can be buffed lightly to brighten it up.

Basically, the paint's age is a factor here and if it were mine I would not be too aggressive for fear of cutting it down even thinner. You can brighten it up quite a bit but I wouldn't go for full correction.

BadDogPSD
09-17-2017, 10:52 AM
Nice car & welcome! Looks like clear coat failure..

Mike Phillips
09-17-2017, 10:53 AM
Hi Scott,

Welcome to AGO! :welcome:

To post pictures from your phone get TapaTalk. Otherwise you need a computer.

I know that if which I speak, I recently created a thread with over 300 pictures.

Over three hundred pictures...