PDA

View Full Version : Help with 2013 Lexus GS350 black, very soft paint

TiredOfPaintStains
08-21-2017, 12:05 AM
Hello,

After lurking for years, I'm finally really getting into this paint correction thing. Wow, so much info and I'm extremely interested. Just something else I need right now. ~sarcastically joking~. I'm prepping to really care for a car I'm about to get. I always like learning new things and doing the work myself, so I've decided to learn and practice while I'm waiting. I'm planning to add a paint coating once the car arrives so I started looking into all the things I need and things started escalating from there. I started practicing on our highly neglected 2013 Lexus GS350 with paint code 212, black obsidian. Probably not a wise choice as a novice, but I didn't realize how soft the paint was.

I went into my cabinet and dug out all the stuff I bought years ago collecting dust or leaking from the bottle. :hungry:

Here's what I have:

Except for the noted, all of this stuff is old. At least 7 years old if i remember correctly.

- Meguiars g110v2
- meg #7 glaze
- meg 82
- meg ultimate compound - just purchased
- meg ultimate finish - jus purchased
- meg swirl x - it's now super runny.
- meg 5" backing plate - just purchased
- meg 5" foam disc; red, yellow, and black - jus purchased
- LC 5" flat discs - white, yellow, orange, black, blue
- 3M finesse-it 3000 swirl remover
- 3M finesse-it compound
- 3M Finesse-it II finishing material machine polish

I searched and searched. But nothing's working or I'm messing up on technique? I came across multiple threads on AG and also MOL with other people correcting the same paint or similar soft paint. Ive been working on test panel(s) for weeks+ using what I had and trying different combinations between compounds, polishes, and pads. That's when I realized how soft the paint is. I thought I was imagining things, but surely, I marred the paint when i clayed it using meg clay bar kit.