PDA

View Full Version : Buffing for the beginner

Richs66
07-19-2017, 06:55 PM
If you're going to use a one-step cleaner/wax you don't normally want to use a foam cutting pad as the sharpness of the foam can leave a shadow effect which is actually micro-marring. Micro-marring is a nice way to say scratching. You can use foam cutting pads and I know some detailers do but I'm typing this article for newbies and I want to keep you safe.

So for a one-step cleaner/wax, I'd recommend getting a minimum of 5-6 foam polishing pads. And of course when using a one-step cleaner/wax you're done after the first and only step so you don't need more pads.

Caught this from another post on Detailing for Beginners, The above was from Mike P.

I'm a beginner all the way, but just wanted to clarify some things here..........I used HD Speed & Proxy, but I put it on with an orange pad...........seemed to get out 95% of my swirls.

So if I'm reading this right, I could have gotten the same results with the white polishing pad. Just wondering if you guys are getting the swirls out with the white pad vs the orange pad.

Thanks

Rich

Richs66
07-19-2017, 06:56 PM
Sorry about that, I put the Speed on with a orange pad, the proxy when on with the white one.

Rich

PaulMys
07-19-2017, 07:15 PM
Good post Rich. But in short, it all depends.......

I have found cleaner waxes to be just a bit different than AIO's. Especially HD Speed.

I would tend to agree with Mike about cutting pads and cleaner wax, but again...... each case might be different.

I tried my first test spot with HD Speed on my Ram with an LC white pad. Results were ok, but not what I wanted.

Went to the orange LC, and bingo. Turns out the CC on my Ram is on the harder side.

As for applying the Poxy, I'd go with a red LC for that. The whites have cutting ability, and you don't want that for applying wax. :)

custmsprty
07-19-2017, 07:28 PM