PDA

View Full Version : Detailing for Beginners

Pages : [1] 2

Rtrick87
07-18-2017, 11:59 PM
Hey everyone,

I wanted to start a thread to help newer weekend warriors, aspiring business owners and hobbyists to the AGO community get on the right track if they are new to detailing. Let's list products, tools and chemicals and so on that are USER FRIENDLY and can be used by beginners with no experience. :xyxthumbs:

I'll start with saying when it comes to removing swirls, I found the Porter Cable 7424 was very user friendly and as a beginner to polishing I was unsure what products to use. I did user m205 and m105 and found them to be easy to use.

What can you list for all the steps needed in detailing both interior and exterior that are user friendly and can achieve great results?

RippyD
07-19-2017, 12:52 AM
Good idea. As a beginner I would disagree with 105 - it can be too problematic for new users.

My recommendation for anybody just starting out with paint correction is go with Griot's pads and polishes. They have fewer products, good explanations for when to use them, and very clear charts show what pad to use with what polish. Compared to trying to figure our Megs polishes or Lake Country pads, Griot's is a lot more clear. And the products are excellent and can continue to be used as their skills improve. As a newbie, I wish I'd started with one brand for paint correction, and I think Griot's is probably the best place to start.

And anybody starting out would benefit from reading Mike Phillips' detailing book.

ctdave
07-19-2017, 08:40 AM
I always used Megs but just bought 2 buffers and settled on Griots 6" and their products I used their complete compound and one step sealer and best of show wax on top. Beautiful. I am about to try their poly wax on another white BMW. We will see how that turns out.

Desertnate
07-19-2017, 08:47 AM