PDA

View Full Version : Polish only horizontal panels?

Pages : [1] 2

shadow536
06-21-2017, 09:22 AM
Hey guys, I searched but couldn't find an answer. I know most of you polish 100% of the vehicle with multiple polishes. I'm a beginner and the idea of spending 8 hours polishing my car is making me tired just thinking about it. My car is 3 years old and the vertical panels are in pretty good shape. The hood and roof have some light scratches and water spotting though. Would it be okay to just do a finishing polish on the horizontal surfaces to remove those cobweb scratches, micro marring, and other light etches? I'm sure the vertical panels could use a polish, but I definitely can't see nearly as much micro marring on the sides.

Or should I just suck it up and polish everything? Keep in mind I'm sticking with a finishing polish for now. My paint is very soft and it should provide decent results.. I don't want to do a compound and polish until I'm more comfortable with a DA and I want to work from least aggressive to more aggressive as I get a feel for my paint.

Mantilgh
06-21-2017, 10:15 AM
I actually just did this the other day to a customers car.

I had just polished it this winter, then he put scratches on most of the horizontal surfaces removing snow from them. That and he wanted to dictate the price.

I did from the body line up too. It was about foot strip around the car, newer Camaro.

RaskyR1
06-21-2017, 10:31 AM
I'm of the opinion that all exterior paint should be corrected to the same level, but hey, it's your car.

I also find the vertical panels to be in much worse shape on 95% of the cars I see, especially if they have gone through a touch style automatic car wash. These are always the dirtiest panels so it makes sense IMO. With the auto washes those mops/brushes also pick up the dirt from the tires, wheels, and wheel wells.

Setec Astronomy
06-21-2017, 10:37 AM
I'm of the opinion that all exterior paint should be corrected to the same level