PDA

View Full Version : Detailing when on duty (first responders)?

Emt1581
05-27-2017, 08:58 PM
I'm a volunteer EMT. For years I've used one of my weekly duty nights to get car work done at the station. This includes oil changes, repairs, swapping wheels, and washing. Since buying my new car I've been using time to wash and then leaf blower the car dry. Snuck a wax in a few weeks back. But I got lucky. No calls went off when I was applying it or else it would have sat in the garage covered in wax for 1-2 hours and if it was a fire call, could have been 3hrs+.

Now once my order arrives from Chemical Guys I plan on stripping off the wax I put on with the citrus wash, blowing it dry, sealing on top of the clear coat, and then waxing on top of that. I estimate that'll take me 4-6 hours accounting for interruptions. I've seen people say to work panel by panel, but I've never had much luck limiting water/wax to just one panel. There's always been over spray. With any of the CG products, is there going to be any damage done if they are left on the car for an hour or two?

The products in question are...

Citrus Wash
Jet Seal
Quick Detailer
TVD
Inner Clean

and then Collinite 845 for wax.

EDIT: I should add that I'd have between 30 seconds and 1 minute to do whatever before having to drop everything and get in the truck. Not sure if that helps.

Any other advice for leaving flexibility to pause the job other than trying to go panel by panel?

Thanks

-Emt1581

PaulMys
05-27-2017, 09:38 PM
Can't speak for any of your other products, but I am big 845 fan. You can leave it on for 2 days and it will easily remove.

GSKR
05-27-2017, 10:09 PM
Collinite also ditch the jetseal.

Tempest45
05-27-2017, 10:23 PM
Optiseal is the way to go for such short notice occasions. N914 at high strength to clean a panel at a time with optiseal as a drying aid.

Emt1581
05-28-2017, 11:10 AM