PDA

View Full Version : Refinishing OEM wheels

tsonata
05-16-2017, 03:41 PM
I would like to know what steps and products are involved in bringing these Ford OEM wheels back to new? The vehicle is a 2015 Ford Expedition el limited with about 38k miles. It appears the prior owner did not do much to care for the wheels as there is some dark pitting, curb rash and an overall haze to the wheels.

I believe these are a polished aluminum with a clear coat on them.

oneheadlite
05-16-2017, 04:32 PM
In my opinion, I would give them a thorough decontamination (Iron-x or similar, extra credit for hitting them with some clay and then polishing them), giving them a coat of your LSP (last step product) of choice, and living with the curb marks. There are a lot of threads on here for good LSP's for wheels.

I work on cars for a living and see way, way more Bad refinished wheels than good. The quality of paint and general care taken always seems to be poor (in my experience).

Otherwise keep an eye on the classifieds near you and watch for someone selling a set to get replacements + spares.

Crispy
05-16-2017, 09:10 PM
In my opinion, I would give them a thorough decontamination (Iron-x or similar, extra credit for hitting them with some clay and then polishing them), giving them a coat of your LSP (last step product) of choice, and living with the curb marks. There are a lot of threads on here for good LSP's for wheels.

I work on cars for a living and see way, way more Bad refinished wheels than good. The quality of paint and general care taken always seems to be poor (in my experience).

Otherwise keep an eye on the classifieds near you and watch for someone selling a set to get replacements + spares.

Up here in Canada we get to put snow tires on each winter.

I use that 4 months to repaint my wheels.

I have done this the last 4 winters on my summer wheels and starting to get a process going.

Bought a set of OEM original GM "5 star" wheels for 2000 Grand Prix.