PDA

View Full Version : Water softener vs CR Spotless confusion

rc10mike
04-28-2017, 09:24 PM
First post here, been lurking this site for over a decade but now finally have a legitimate question.

First, allow me to explain my experience with washing my vehicles over the years, Ill admit Im a noob.

Ive owned 2 cars in the last 11 years, both black.

Some years ago I tried the Mr Clean Auto Dry system and was pleasantly surprised how well it worked and left no spots. After that I got lazy and never tried to use it again until it was discontinued:(

Then I moved to NE Florida. The water from my house was terrible, even though it came with a water softener already installed. I couldn't get the Mr Clean thing anymore, so I searched around and found Auto Geeks Clear inline hose filter. I figured maybe my hose outlet didnt run through the home water softener. I got the single filter and used the softener cartridge. Still had bad water spots. I was kind of upset for wasting about $100 on this filter and it didnt remove spots like it clearly stated in the description. (This was about 8 years ago, no hard feelings)

Fast forward to now. My CR Spotless DIC-20 arrived today and I gave it a try. Guess what...NO SPOTS. I was happy it worked, but Im confused as to WHY the CR Spotless worked when its essentially a smaller version of my house water softener?

Whats really going on here?!

wolfpacker92
04-28-2017, 09:50 PM
The CR is a demineralizer not a water softener. Minerals left behind when water evaporates are what leave spots, so you need pure water (no minerals) to ensure no water spots. To do this you need a system that employees a mixed bed resin that brings the total suspended solids down which would be exactly what the CR does. The softener doesn't remove minerals.

rc10mike
04-28-2017, 11:24 PM