PDA

View Full Version : Beginner trying to get a good black finish.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Mallowpuff
04-11-2017, 06:18 PM
Hello everyone, first time here so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section.

This is my first time doing any more than just washing a car with sudsy water and wash towels and throwing on some wax. I'm looking to get a deep, wet looking finish on a black car. On a budget.

The 2 cars I'm doing are..

A pretty nice 2012 CRV(shhh) and a not so nice but still not too bad 2001 Nissan Maxima. They are both black.

Both aren't perfect. They both have scratches(nothing too bad) and both are fairly dull. The Maxima is by far the worse of the two. It has some deeper scratches at and some pretty bad "cobwebs" from birds.

What I'm looking for is the right products, and the right way to do it. I know neither are going to be perfect as I'm not going to go as in depth as to do actual paint correction, but I think both can turn out better than just driving them through the car wash? I think?

Right now here's my list of products after a quick search.

Cleaning cloths (http://www.autozone.com/wash-mitts-chamois-and-other-wash-and-wax-accessories/microfiber-cloths-chamois-and-applicators/autozone-2-pcs-microfiber-super-absorber-towel/87991_0_0/)

Wheel/Tire Cleaner (http://www.autozone.com/wash-cleaners-and-exterior-care-products/wheel-and-tire-cleaner/eagle-one-a2z-all-wheel-and-tire-cleaner/286666_0_0/)

Clay (http://www.autozone.com/wash-cleaners-and-exterior-care-products/clay-bar-and-paint-cleaners/mothers-california-gold-clay-bar-kit/189455_0_0/)

Tire shine (http://www.autozone.com/wash-cleaners-and-exterior-care-products/tire-foam-and-shine/meguiar-s-15-oz-nxt-generation-insane-shine/629623_0_0/) for the Maxima

Polish (http://www.autozone.com/wash-cleaners-and-exterior-care-products/polish/meguiar-s-ultimate-polish/164697_0_0/)

And we have a bottle of Meguiar's Gold Class Carnauba Plus.