PDA

View Full Version : How Long Does it Take?!?!

Pages : [1] 2

geoguy
04-03-2017, 11:42 AM
Hey Guys!

Just a quick question for you.

I did a one-step paint correction on my black 2008 Subaru Outback Sport yesterday and it took me about 9 hours. This included a thorough aggressive wash and decontamination (bug squash, foam, rinse, foam/2 bucket wash, Iron remover [McKee's], clay [Mother's clay pad], and wash again). Probably over did it, but I was taking my time and being careful with the soft black paint. I followed up with Optimum's Polish II on a LC CCS white pad using the "cheaper DA" that is similar to the PC. I didn't get to the roof or hood because of time constraints. LSP was DG 601/105. I am a novice and nowhere near the professional stage, but how long does a typical one-step take you guys? I must be getting old, cause my back was killing me afterwards!

Thanks!
Geoguy

Heisenberg
04-03-2017, 11:55 AM
Depends on the condition of the car, what kind of process I have to use for correction, and what kind of finishing product I'm using(wipe on walk away, spray and rinse, traditional wipe off, etc.) but mine take somewhere around 6-8 hours and that usually involves at least a vacuum and wipedown of interior.

It's hard work. Detailers undersell how much we beat our bodies up in a variety of ways. Im fortunate not to have back issues, but my hands are always beat up and I always have a farmer's tan:laughing:

Kamakaz1961
04-03-2017, 12:14 PM