PDA

View Full Version : Iron-X - Clarification

Y2KSVT
03-29-2017, 10:19 AM
I'm a hobby detailer and have been polishing our vehicles for a few years now. Last year I bought a newer car that I haven't had a chance to touch, so later this month I want to polish the car and use a few products I've never used before. I have the McKee's 37 trio of coatings (paint/wheels/glass) that I'll be trying, having been using only sealants and waxes in the past. I think I have a grip on those, but the other product I'll be trying is Iron-X. I'm looking forward to the results, but I want to make sure I'm using it properly. From what I've gathered, I don't want it to dry on the paint so I'll avoid direct sunlight.

My questions are around when people are using it and dwell-time. Should I be using it after the car is washed and dried? Should the paint be completely dry or should it be wet, when applying the Iron-X? Once applied, the directions say to wait 5 minutes. Are you rubbing the Iron-X into the paint with a damp sponge? If you have to remove it after 5 minutes, how are people spraying down their entire cars with it, like I've seen? I would imagine having to work a panel or two at a time so I could wash it off right at 5 minutes.

Thanks for you responses!

Mantilgh
03-29-2017, 10:27 AM
Look through the "description" section of IronX on the CarProUSA site, it's has some good usage tips.

Dry is best.

You can use it before or after the wash. Before with the aggressive wash technique, after for the gentle approach.

BryanH
03-29-2017, 01:28 PM
I like to use it after washing the car and giving it a quick dry (not 100%). My theory is I don't want to be rubbing anything on the paint when those iron particles have released their bond to the surface. I spray around the whole car which doesn't take long (my cars are small ;)), wait a few minutes and then thoroughly rinse with a strong jet of water. Then dry the car again and start claying.

Ceerokz
03-29-2017, 02:41 PM