PDA

View Full Version : Which more aggressive compound/polish might I need

AJ Peacock
03-22-2017, 04:36 PM
Thanks in advance,

I'll be doing a exterior detail on my daughters 2014 focus in about a month.

I'm a newbie w/re DA polishing (I am very handy with all other sorts of tools, woodworking, metal work ...)

I initially planned on just doing a swirl removal, so bought the Wolfgang Swirl removal kit (swirl remover and finishing glaze).

I have a PC DA and a good selection of CCS pads (Yellow, Orange, Pink, Blue, White, Black)

I've been thinking that it might be smart to have the ability to go just a little more aggressive if I find that the swirl remover isn't quite enough.

I have to make an order from AGO between now and then.

I thought I'd see if getting one step more agressive on hand is a good idea, or just do the correction with the swirl remover and see how it ends up.
This car is a DD.

Thanks,
AJ

Rsurfer
03-22-2017, 04:46 PM
Thanks in advance,

I'll be doing a exterior detail on my daughters 2014 focus in about a month.

I'm a newbie w/re DA polishing (I am very handy with all other sorts of tools, woodworking, metal work ...)

I initially planned on just doing a swirl removal, so bought the Wolfgang Swirl removal kit (swirl remover and finishing glaze).

I have a PC DA and a good selection of CCS pads (Yellow, Orange, Pink, Blue, White, Black)

I've been thinking that it might be smart to have the ability to go just a little more aggressive if I find that the swirl remover isn't quite enough.

I have to make an order from AGO between now and then.

I thought I'd see if getting one step more agressive on hand is a good idea, or just do the correction with the swirl remover and see how it ends up.
This car is a DD.

Thanks,
AJ

If I remember correctly, Wolfgang's TSR is medium compound and with a orange ccs pad should remove some light to medium swirls. Finish up with a white ccs pad and your finishing glaze. Have fun, step back and admire your work.