PDA

View Full Version : Important* new flex polisher question

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

fightnews
02-19-2017, 09:17 AM
I'm using my new flex xc3401 polisher for the first time. I noticed the factory backing plate doesn't tighten solid onto the machine. The allen screw is definitely tight and the backing plate has a wobble to it. I can put fingers on each side and move it up and down. I don't know if this is normal because its my first time owning one.

the machine is definitely hard to control. i new it was going to be tougher the the GG6 or the G15 but it seems excessive and its walking a lot. the backing plate on my G15 is solid. im using a 6.5" orange correction pad from griots.

i was hoping guys with flex machines can tell me if thier backing plate wobbles or not? Also does anyone know a number I can call to get this straightened out if the wobble is actually a problem? I'm not sure who to go to with warranty issues and stuff like that.

thanks in advance for helping me out,

Setec Astronomy
02-19-2017, 09:36 AM
The walking is part of the learning curve for a forced-rotation or direct-drive (rotary) machine.

The wobble isn't normal, IIRC there is a flat-sided washer where the backing plate attaches, are you sure everything is lined up correctly in there? Did you take the backing plate off?

Audios S6
02-19-2017, 09:38 AM
My backing plate does not wobble. Do you have the small factory washer installed? It will be more difficult to control, especially at higher speed. You really do have to keep the pad flat.

Contact flex USA for you question. Powerhouse tool does warranty repair in the US.

fightnews
02-19-2017, 09:52 AM
ya its on right and there is definitely a wobble, it seems hard to control

fightnews
02-19-2017, 09:54 AM
So on you guys flex machines the backing plate wont move at all if you wiggle it? for the money it cost i def want one that doesnt wobble

vobro
02-19-2017, 10:20 AM