PDA

View Full Version : Porter Cable vs Ultimate Detailing Machine

Pages : [1] 2

White Thunder
11-13-2007, 06:47 PM
Is the Ultimate Detailing Machine as good as the Porter Cable

ScottB
11-13-2007, 06:53 PM
I have both and answer this question quite frequently, they are both extremely nice and either is a nice choice. I tend to lean to PC as pricing, 5yrs previous use, and comfortability dicate so. That said both, are much better than those large orbital buffers most get during the holiday season and very safe when directions are followed.

Tex Star Detail
11-14-2007, 09:04 AM
I'll give you my honest opinion on both.
I have used the PC for 2 years now, no problems at all. I was given the chance to use the UDM the other day at a local meet we had. To me, it vibrates too much for me to use it daily, as I detail for a living. I would think my arms would fall off after one vehicle. After doing a partial panel, my hands felt like they were still vibrating and sorta feeling numb. I will stick with my PC.

One thing that I did like about the UDM, was the power it had. I wish the vibration issue wasn't present, as I would have liked to purchase one. Now I am looking at a Metabo or a Flex to replace the PCC

Ruttrow
11-14-2007, 09:42 AM
I had a UDM and like stated above, vibrated way too much for my liking. The pc I sold to buy the UDM did not vibrate even close to that of the udm.

Mike T
11-14-2007, 11:00 AM
I'm liking the UDM. More power in your hand. I think it has a less harsh vibration than the PC, and it wasn't quiet as loud as the PC except for when you have the speed cranked way up.

lcocanougher
11-14-2007, 08:54 PM
I'm not a pro but heres my 2cents, i used a pc once it vibrated awful, got my udm doesnt seem to vibrate half as bad, also is not as loud as pc. the udm only vibrates crazy if on speed 6, which i never use because speed 5 is perfect. If your interested mine is for sale as I am getting a Metabo to learn rotary!

budman3
11-14-2007, 09:38 PM