PDA

View Full Version : Is it easier to scratch/marr/swirl car with a DA vs by hand?

wonderbar
12-04-2016, 02:52 PM
Hi all,

My daily driver (Honda, outside all day), has just reached a 1 year old, and I am considering buying a DA for applying sealants and waxes.

Combine the facts that I am new to car detailing and that it is a daily driver, I have not gone too crazy in detailing my car. I do waterless/rinseless washes about once every 3 weeks, apply liquid wax about once every 3 months, and apply a sealant once every 6 months - all by hand. I *think* I have done a relatively good job - I cannot really see any swirls, marrs, or scratches on my cars metallic dark gray paint color in direct sunlight. The only thing I have not done yet is clay + polish my car yet - something I plan to do during the summer, after the winter/rain season.

But for now, I am considering getting a DA to speed up the process of sealing/waxing. For applying sealants and waxes on an unclayed car, would using a DA like the Porter Cable 742XP be easier to impose swirl marks/scratches/visible marring to the paint versus by hand? Since this is a daily driver, I have lenient on its exterior looks, but visible swirl marks in sunlight is something that I am trying to avoid. I believe I have been doing a decent job by hand using microfiber sponges/applicators, just don't want to risk damaging my car by going to a machine.

Thanks for the help!

VR8
12-04-2016, 03:11 PM
The machine will be your best Christmas present to yourself. Go for it! Watch the tutorial videos and you'll be fine. I personally think your at less risk of making rub marks with the polisher. Use moderate speeds and soft pads, no need to buy into the correction polishes and compounding pads yet. Spend a little while getting use to it, just applying your sealants/waxes, and you'll soon be hooked. Oh, and buy masking tape to make trim protection easier.

coles_paint_correction
12-04-2016, 03:35 PM