PDA

View Full Version : How to clean Pads?

Zack01GC
11-06-2007, 09:46 AM
I use The Edge 6" DA foam pads. I use the Green, Blue, and White primarily. Now I may have a detail coming up on a Black car (my car is silver, so I don't worry about the pads so much), and they are caked with polish (SSR2.5 and SSR1 from the last few times I used them. The white finishing pad is full of Meg's #26.

What can I do to clean them? I don't want them to do more harm than good, especially on a Black, High-Dollar (Saleen) car.

I have used the pads like this twice on my car, and they have worked just fine. Black just makes me nervous. :o

Edit: I am a broke college student, and can't afford a fancy pad cleaning kit right now. Need some ideas for DIY or a way to do it with household products.

Bert31
11-06-2007, 10:43 AM
I use The Edge 6" DA foam pads. I use the Green, Blue, and White primarily. Now I may have a detail coming up on a Black car (my car is silver, so I don't worry about the pads so much), and they are caked with polish (SSR2.5 and SSR1 from the last few times I used them. The white finishing pad is full of Meg's #26.

What can I do to clean them? I don't want them to do more harm than good, especially on a Black, High-Dollar (Saleen) car.

I have used the pads like this twice on my car, and they have worked just fine. Black just makes me nervous. :o

Edit: I am a broke college student, and can't afford a fancy pad cleaning kit right now. Need some ideas for DIY or a way to do it with household products.

Some people use All Purpose Cleaners, I like Dawn Power Dissolver myself with a shot of degreaser. While the degreaser is optional, it certainly helps.

My method is as follows:

-Make bucket of hot water with Dawn Power Dissolver and degreaser.
-Put the pads in the bucket and scrub them with my hands, squeeze them to release polish/aio and allow soapy water to be absorbed and continue squeezing and scrubing till I see the water getting no dirtier.