PDA

View Full Version : Poorboys EX

dengood1
11-05-2007, 06:51 PM
What can anyone tell me about this sealant (those who have used it)? I've got a small sample and am itching to use it but want to hear some "real life" experiences you all have had with it. Looks, durability, ease of use, etc......tell me what you know, good or bad. Thanks!

AUdakota
11-05-2007, 07:08 PM
I have heard that it is not very durable for a sealant but I have no actual experience so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Gary Sword
11-05-2007, 07:11 PM
I have used EX-P but on EX. I guess the left out the P. Sorry I'm not much help Dennis. I think EX-P is a decent sealant but not my favorite.

budman3
11-05-2007, 07:22 PM
I have heard that it is not very durable for a sealant but I have no actual experience so take my advice with a grain of salt.

Those accusations would be of EX-P not EX anyways (which I have never found poor durability... )

But EX is a resin type sealant enhanced with carnauba wax. So basically you get the longevity of a sealant and the looks of a carnauba. It is very easy to apply and just as easy to remove. It is quite slick and adds a nice level of gloss / warmth to the paint. While it's hard to give a solid range of durability, it would have 'normal' durability. Since it is carnauba based you can use Pooroboy's PwC, Optimum Poly-seal or another polish with carnauba in it with no ill effects. Top it off or refresh with a liquid or spray wax for easy maintenance.

Since EX is carnauba based, it'll look best on solid, dark colors. EX-P would be more for a clear shine and makes flakes pop, especially on lighter colors.

Detail_Guy
11-05-2007, 07:29 PM