PDA

View Full Version : Help/Thoughts: Problems with Blackfire Crystal Coat

WeekendDIY
10-08-2016, 08:54 PM
Hello, Hope all you southeast folks made thru Michael OK.

I was wondering if I could get some help with BF Crystal Coat. This is my first time using it. This past May I did a 3 step on my car (clayed, compound, Polish, LSP, whole nine yards). So this fall I wanted to do a coating. I polished the car with HD polish and a polishing pad. I then used BF Paint Prep. I picked a small rear quarter panel (driver side) where I had a natural break/seam where the panels met to test.

I shook the bottle well and used two different applicators (CarPro and the yellow like in the video). I'm really not sure how to describe it. It's like it was foggy and/or gummy. I only put a few drops on the pad(s). And the whole idea of using a MF to buff and take out any high spots was an absolute no go. The MF was sticking and the MF was dragging and pulling. I tried waiting a bit to see how it would dry and it just didn't look right. So I was able to use the Paint Prep and wipe it off. I tried about another 4 times with different applicators and amount. I really wanted to wait longer than the about two minutes that I was but I was getting nervous.

I don't mean to compare products and I'm not really because they are different. But I was expecting something along the lines of WG Deep Gloss Liquid Seal. Again, I know they're different products. But I was expecting a little bit more of the quick flashing and then drying. Maybe that's not how coatings work, at BF.

I ended up putting on Pinnacle Black Label Diamond Paint sealant because I wanted something for the fall and winter.

Anyway, I know there is a BF sub forum and a thread about this possible same issue but I really didn't see any resolution. When I first read it back in early summer I had just bought on a BOGO deal. So maybe it was a bad batch.