PDA

View Full Version : Single stage Case tractor oxidation

Pages : [1] 2

Craddock
09-01-2016, 10:11 AM
HI all. My name is Josh and this is my first post for the second time. Much easier in the app!!

I have been fighting a faded out red Case tractor. I have never used m100 before and after realizing I needed more aggressive compound than I had with I ran and bought some locally. I initially thought I could get by with something less aggressive but that was not the case. This job has been frustrating to say the least. Very short working time(sometimes as low as 10 seconds), , difficult time removing compound, pads dirty all the time, ect. It is more like removing oxidation from gelcoat than working with paint. On that note I wish I had some of my gel coat polish to try as it is very aggressive. The m100 does actually finish out very well if I can get the residue off. Been keeping an old pad with 205 handy just to wipe finish. Or hitting with da in some spots. A lot of work with a drill and 3" pad. Need a 3" tool that I can put an extension on soon. Tired and sore. This is not easy working conditions on the cab and roof, and I am regretting taking this on. The m100 does not remove fine scratches thst I had hoped it would ,but I am not too worried about that. Have a bunch of small spots to finish that are hard to get to. A 3" dedicated tool is on my list for sure. Thanks for this wonderful forum. Any advice will be greatly welcomed. Here are some pictures. -Josh

Craddock
09-01-2016, 10:18 AM
Sorry for pics. I did not mean to upload like that . They do not look clear as thumbnails

Craddock
09-01-2016, 10:20 AM
See if a single pic work better. Nope. Sorry

GSKR
09-01-2016, 11:47 AM
I did a blue tractor 2 years ago at a tractor dealer.I used d151 with buff and shine pads if that helps.I wouldn't use anything agressive on single stage paint.

Craddock
09-01-2016, 12:32 PM