PDA

View Full Version : Clean, Clayed, used Optimum and....

Howareb
10-30-2007, 08:34 PM
Hi all,

This is my first thread with Autogeek, but I have been detailing for about 3 years.

A customer of mine came to me with their 2001 Charcoal Blue Navigator and I noticed that the hood had medium/heavy oxidation. They told me to do the best I can with it when I pointed it out.

I hit the oxidized area with Optimum Compound and an LC Orange CCS, UDM running on 3. It removed some of the oxidation, moved to the LC Yellow ccs, UDM on 3. Removed about 60%, then moved to Optimum Hyper on LC Orange, UDM on 3, in which I got rid of about 80%. After I completed the last pass, I noticed that the shine was back but some of the oxidized areas were lighter in color than the color of the car. Needless to say the oxidation may have gotten too bad. But, I am posting here looking for a glimmer of hope. The customer will understand, but I want to try all avenues before I give up.

Should I continue working on this area or leave it be? Can the paint have been thined out so much that it is lighter in color (If so it does not make sense to me) or has the paint been damaged by the oxidation and the sun, upon which there is nothing that can be done. I have worked with lightly\medium oxidized cars before, but this one has me stumped.

I will post a pic tomorrow AM. Oh yes before I forget, the Optimum Polishes are some great products. Any advice would be appreciated.

budman3
10-30-2007, 09:10 PM
It is always a good idea to use a paint cleaner on oxidation rather than a compund or swirl remover. The paint cleaner will actually remove the oxidation leaving you a clean surface to polish after. Right now you are using compunds with abrasives which'll cut through the oxidation but it won't clean it... so try using a paint cleaner, if you have it... like Klasse AIO, Pooroby's Pro Polish, Pinnacle Paint cleanser, etc.

Howareb
10-30-2007, 09:52 PM