PDA

View Full Version : Novice - How to best partition work

Igsimon
08-30-2016, 10:11 AM
I am a novice who has been reading forums here and watching videos for several months. I have 1 2004 Boxster that I recently purchased. It has lots of swirls and light scratches. I purchased a Porter Cable, Wolfgang Swirl Remover, Wolfgang swirl remover, Wolfgang finishing glaze, and Wolfgang sealant. Plan is

2 bucket Wash, Clay, swirl, finishing, sealant. then roof then wheels and tires

My question is how to best brake this into several 3 hour jobs. I have a health problem that limits me to only a few hour a day of this type of work. I also may not be able to work consecutive days. Do I do 1- break it up by steps knowing I will need to wash before each step increasing the work
or 2- break it by sections of car - hood, trunk, drivers side, passenger side?

parttimer
08-30-2016, 10:23 AM
Is this something you will drive each day or can you wash it, garage it and work on it? If you're not driving it all the time, wash it, park in the garage, pick a panel and do your first step. After you have done the entire vehicle. move to the second step and so on.

WeekendDIY
08-30-2016, 10:28 AM
A boxter would basically considered a "small" car correct? Meaning it doesn't have a lot of painted surface as compared to a sedan or SUV.

I would do it by sections. Then do another the next day. If the car will stay garaged and not driven until you get I wouldn't feel you need to wash it again in between your efforts. Maybe do a rinseless or waterless wash on each panel before you get started.

I don't do this for a living but it seems that would work for you. Others here with more experience may certainly have better suggestions and probably will.

Oops...^^^ he beat me to it. :-)

Paul A.
08-30-2016, 10:30 AM