PDA

View Full Version : Extractor or no..

Bierman
08-29-2016, 04:03 PM
I'm new to the biz and I'm trying to save my nickels. Do I need a carpet extractor for heavy soiled carpets? And if I do need one can I get away with using little green bissell for the deep stuck on dirt.

dcjredline
08-29-2016, 04:10 PM
Need, no. But it will make things easier/faster. Maybe till you save up you either don't take those jobs or set expectations low and over deliver as best you can. You can get alot done with some elbow grease

Bierman
08-29-2016, 04:49 PM
Is a bissell a waste of $ then?

Dereksdtail
08-29-2016, 05:06 PM
Is a bissell a waste of $ then?

Hey man I use a bissell and with the right steps you can get awesome results, you will need an extractor in some cases. The best advice I've gotten is pretreat,agitate and extract with water and I use Zep extractor shampoo, never get seats or carpet too wet!

MarkD51
08-29-2016, 05:27 PM
Many might suggest Bissel, and of course their little Green Machine, or whatever it's called would be one option due to its small very portable size. Tossing in your own hot water from the tap will be basically the same equivalent at the Wand as any fancy "Pro Heat" touts.

If you take care of the machine, even a cheapo, you might luckily get a couple year's use, and 4-5 dozen cars worth. Or maybe even more. At that point, the machine will have probably paid for itself. Toss it and move on, unless you can fix it on the cheap with Glue, or Duct Tape, etc.

Another advantage to an Extractor is of course for your own benefit. For your rides, and as well for your house.

Spill a glass of wine, or the Dog Yakked, or did a number 2, you can quickly spot clean, and sanitize those areas.