PDA

View Full Version : How to clean this.

choijw2
07-24-2016, 11:06 AM

My last customer had these spots on driver window sill.

I tried APC, rubber cleaner, nothing worked.

I hoped gtechniq c4 would cover it but didn't work either

Any tricks?

oboroballa03
07-24-2016, 11:31 AM
Maybe try some rubbing alcohol on it i am not sure never had a problem like that i am no professional either but good luck

Hoytman
07-24-2016, 11:37 AM
How about a rotary, a wool pad at high speed, and some BC-2.:poke: :checkit:

Try this... Mothers Back to Black Heavy Duty Trim Cleaner, best car wax remover plastic trim (http://www.autogeek.net/best-car-wax-remover-plastic-trim.html)

swanicyouth
07-24-2016, 11:42 AM
It's not dirty.

The UV protection coating is oxidizing. It analogous to clear coat failure on paint - except it's fake rubber.

Solution Finish should revive it.

briarpatch
07-24-2016, 11:44 AM
Is that trim rubber or the hard plastic?

precisionmobile85
07-24-2016, 11:45 AM
How about a rotary, a wool pad at high speed, and some BC-2.:poke:

Try this... http://www.autogeek.net/best-car-wax-remover-plastic-trim.html

Lol. I had to read that twice. I thought I misread the op. I have the same spots on trim as well. Tried everything I had to throw at it. Made it look better but didn't last long. I used the mothers back to black (non aresol). Worked the best surprisingly but spots reappeared after a week orbso

Jay's 128i
07-24-2016, 12:35 PM
I second swanicyouth, Solution Finish is probably your best bet:
http://autogeek.commerce-search.net/redirect?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.autogeek.net%2Fsolut ion-finish-trim-kit.html

Hoytman
07-24-2016, 12:44 PM
I would still recommend cleaning the trim, rubber or plastic, with the Mothers HD Trim cleaner product I referenced, then proceed with Solution Finish...