PDA

View Full Version : HD Speed - wrong pad choice or bad technique?

Pages : [1] 2 3

evo77
07-11-2016, 12:56 PM
I'm a newbie to machine polishing. Well sorta. It's been many years since I've used my Meguiars G100 machine and I only used it one other time.

After watching many polishing videos I decided to lightly polish the wife's 15 Dodge GC using HD Speed. I used a LC CCS 5.5" orange pad. Added 5 dime sized dots. Kissed the paint. Spread the product on 2 setting and bumped up to 6 with slow passes.

Here is the issue I ran into...

Despite my attempts at trying NOT to over saturate the pad it ended happening anyway and it appears to have started gumming up. I had to clean the pad with air and a towel before every section I did. Is that normal?

Here is the pad after working a section with 4 passes. Small pea sized dots (5). I had just cleaned the pad prior to...

What am I doing wrong?

LSNAutoDetailing
07-11-2016, 01:20 PM
Where are you located (weather related question)?
What were the temps while working?
Were you under shade or direct sunlight?
How many pads did you use?

Typically I use 6 pads for paint correction
4 for polish
1 or 2 for applying LSP.

HD Speed and or any compound/polish will start acting flaky when temps start approaching 88 and beyond.

whavens
07-11-2016, 01:49 PM
Had the same thing happen to me last week. It was hot and humid. Even though I was in an air conditioned garage, the product was all but impossible to get off. I switched to Essence and CarPro Gloss Pads. I had no problem once I switched. I have done probably 20 cars with Speed and never had it behave like it did last week.

evo77
07-11-2016, 02:09 PM
Where are you located (weather related question)?
What were the temps while working?
Were you under shade or direct sunlight?
How many pads did you use?

Typically I use 6 pads for paint correction
4 for polish
1 or 2 for applying LSP.