PDA

View Full Version : Using foam as only wash?

CopperMtnGuy
07-01-2016, 09:37 AM
Is it ok to use the foam lance as your main wash on something that is only dusty? I'm not using a prewash soap...using a shampoo that I'd normally use for my 2 bucket wash. I'm new to the foam lance so I'm just trying to figure out the best way to use it! thanks.

Setec Astronomy
07-01-2016, 09:41 AM
So what are you saying, you want to foam the car and just rinse it, then dry?

I've certainly done foam gun washes that way to get pollen off...it's been a long time, I think I foamed, rinsed, and then just blew the car dry, or perhaps I was using my CR back then. If it's just dust you should be able to foam it and blast anything else off with the pressure washer, blow dry, then dry remaining drips with a towel and some QD or waterless wash.

That's presuming the vehicle has some LSP on it so the dust won't be "stuck".

kevincwelch
07-01-2016, 09:42 AM
Sure.

I'd suggest that you have a few mitts available to turn over if you don't use a bucket to rinse your mitt.

Search for "Aggressive Car Wash Method" by Mike Phillips. That's a bit more than what you're doing, but there are reasons alone to use just to foam lance as the source of foam and lubrication for washing a car. Obviously the reason why we have 2 buckets is to keep the source clean and rinse the mitt in the 2nd bucket. If you are using just the foam lance, then you either need to have a few mitts around -- setting them aside once they become soiled -- or have a rinse bucket. On that note, if you have a rinse bucket, wouldn't it just be easier to do the 2 bucket method rather than get out the compressor, foam lance, etc.? Just a consideration.

Regardless, if you use the foam lance, you have to use clean mitts.

If it's just dusty, why not use a waterless or rinseless wash? I'd do that personally. Easier. Faster.

shagnat
07-25-2016, 12:47 PM