PDA

View Full Version : Question about Sealants and Glaze

Aaron Flanagan
06-30-2016, 09:32 AM
Maybe this is a dumb question as I'm relatively new to detailing. I understand compound, polish and wax, but I'm unclear about sealants and glaze. Are these used in conjunction with the other three. instead of or some combination?

I think I understand sealants as they appear to be either instead of wax or used before applying a carnauba. Is that correct?

E93to
06-30-2016, 09:42 AM
You might find some useful information here: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/auto-detailing-101/102696-questions-regarding-glaze-sealant.html

I've asked the same question, but forum members advised against using glaze and sealants since glaze could prevent sealant from bonding to the car's surface.

Basically glaze fills minor paint imperfections/swirls/fine scratches to add more shine and gloss.

Sealant is synthetic wax, which provides longer protection than wax. However wax provides better shine than sealant.

Desertnate
06-30-2016, 09:57 AM
Sealant is synthetic wax, which provides longer protection than wax. However wax provides better shine than sealant.

This isn't totally true. It's the type of shine that differs between the waxes and sealants. Waxes will tend to yeild a deeper, more wet looking shine. Sealants typically have a more glassy, candy coated look to them. However, there are plenty exceptions if you dig around here and read reviews. Also, the lines between waxes and sealants blur considerably based on formula of the product. You can't just go by the name on the label.