PDA

View Full Version : Gonna use Duragloss 501 for the first time. Any tips?

Mike Honcho
06-04-2016, 08:10 AM
Wifey's outside 24/7 2008 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer (in burgundy) is gonna be my test monkey for Duragloss 501. (don't tell her.) I've never used any of the Duragloss products before and I"m excited about giving them a go. Any tips would greatly be appreciated! Gonna place an order shortly here at AG for the DG products I'll need based on y'alls recommendations. Here's what I'll be using:

PC DA polisher
Lake Country Hydro Tech pads
Nanoskin mitt
Hyperwash
Goose Island Honkers Ale (quantity needed unknown but I have plenty)

How long do I work the 501? Section passes typically needed?

Jowillie
06-04-2016, 01:03 PM
I would make sure to also order the #601 Polish Bonding Agent.
I'm getting ready to "go to the bone" on my wife's black Volvo and start from scratch. Here's what Brother Jerry at Durogloss recommended:

Wash
Use the claybar,
then Squeaky Clean and alcohol wipe.
This will pre-prep the surface.
Apply 601/105

If paint is in reasonably good condition, others have gotten great results with using 501/601 and following up with a second coat of 105/601.
The 501 is an excellent Cleaner/Sealant, and the second coat of 105/601 (more sealant) makes for a long lasting, good looking treatment.
Let us know how it goes.

P.S. After getting a good finish on my black beauty, I topped it with 601/111 (Clear Coat Sealant) and it absolutely glimmers.
P.P.S. Remember to apply all in thin coats. Very little goes a long way.

Nick McKees37
06-04-2016, 01:11 PM
Wifey's outside 24/7 2008 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer (in burgundy) is gonna be my test monkey for Duragloss 501. (don't tell her.) I've never used any of the Duragloss products before and I"m excited about giving them a go. Any tips would greatly be appreciated! Gonna place an order shortly here at AG for the DG products I'll need based on y'alls recommendations. Here's what I'll be using:

PC DA polisher