PDA

View Full Version : Applying 2nd coat of wax much later

AutoApollo
05-26-2016, 09:51 AM
Hi guys, I did a paint correction roughly 5 months ago on my buddies car. Wax is still present. As far as a second coat of wax goes, can I just wash the car down, dry it then put the wax on? Imo the paint doesn't need to be clay barred. Still smooth. However, is it necessary for that previous cost of wax to be removed and a quick polish?

Setec Astronomy
05-26-2016, 09:58 AM
I'm sure you're going to get a ton of replies telling you that you HAVE to do some sort of prep. As far as I'm concerned, if you think the paint is clean, there's still old wax there, etc., just give it a good wash and apply your LSP. Will it be as good as using a paint cleaner or light polish beforehand? No. Will it be fine? Yes, IMO.

derass
05-26-2016, 10:08 AM
I'm still relatively new to this, but if it were me, after 5 months I'd clay the car before waxing. If it's clean, the claying process will be quick and easy, and will be a worthwhile step in getting good adhesion of the new coat of wax.

AutoApollo
05-26-2016, 10:35 AM
I'm sure you're going to get a ton of replies telling you that you HAVE to do some sort of prep. As far as I'm concerned, if you think the paint is clean, there's still old wax there, etc., just give it a good wash and apply your LSP. Will it be as good as using a paint cleaner or light polish beforehand? No. Will it be fine? Yes, IMO.

Yeah you're prob right. I'ts not a Ferrari or anything lol. Thanks!

FUNX650
05-26-2016, 10:40 AM
I'm still relatively new to this, but if it were me,
after 5 months I'd clay the car before waxing.

If it's clean, the claying process will be quick
and easy, and will be a worthwhile step in
getting good adhesion of the new coat of wax.

•There are these two things I think
about whenever claying is discussed:
1.) I perform "The Baggie Test"
before I clay.
2.) I always, (at the very least),
use a light polish after I do clay;