PDA

View Full Version : Mark II Washer Mod Where To Get?

Pages : [1] 2

VT675
05-14-2016, 04:22 PM
I've had my Rupes 21 MK II for a while now, was it supposed to come with a washer like the G21?

I didn't see one in the box, if not where can I pick one up from?

Thanks

ski2
05-14-2016, 04:59 PM
Rupes does not supply or recommend the use of the washer mod. I believe you need an 8mm washer if you really need it. Kevin Brown has a video on how to make your own for the Mark 1. Try Google.

WRAPT C5Z06
05-14-2016, 05:21 PM
M8 washer will do the trick.

VT675
05-14-2016, 05:23 PM
Yeah I know Rupes' stance on it and I think it's silly. I've been using the Flex for 5 years now and thought giving the Mark II 21 a try. So far, I'm not really impressed. The Flex corrects better but I'm not fatigued after 10-20 hour detail using the Rupes. I had hoped by using the washer mod I can bring it closer to Flex correcting level, without the fatigue incorporated using the Flex.

VT675
05-14-2016, 05:33 PM
Sweet, M8 washer, any modifications required to it? Thanks.

WRAPT C5Z06
05-14-2016, 05:57 PM
Sweet, M8 washer, any modifications required to it? Thanks.
No mods needed.

custmsprty
05-14-2016, 06:13 PM
No mods needed.

:iagree: Yeah, what's the point?

How much power is enough? Might as well go with a rotary.

Not too mention the more aggressively you grind away the more clear or paint you remove. Least is better IMHO.

Dylan@RUPES
05-15-2016, 09:49 AM
The first question that comes to mind is "WHY?"

The only reason anyone ever needed a washer mod was to maintain pad rotation in areas where it would otherwise stall and they couldn't compensate with technique. Have you found that you're experiencing pad stall with the Mark II? If so what speed? We recommend running the tool at speed 3-4 and that gives you 2-3 increased speeds to compensate for stall should you encounter it.