PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Zaino polish

E93to
05-08-2016, 02:52 PM
Hello. I am a noob when it comes to detailing. I have a question about polish and wax

For years, I've applied 2-3 coats of Zaino Z-5 PRO mixed with ZFX on my car before applying wax (Collinite 845). The polish has always been applied by hand.

Now I'm told applying such polish is redundant because it does the same thing as wax... Is that true?

Should I skip the polish, and do:

Glaze (Griot's Garage)
Seal (Wolfgang Deep Gloss)
Cure
Wax (Collinite 845)?

Thanks in advance!

Paul A.
05-08-2016, 03:04 PM
Z5 is a sealant and 2-3 layers of that is all you need to protect your paint. Unless you like the look of the Collonite on top of the Zaino, you don't really need 4 layers of what is the equivalent of "wax".

Zaino has always been criticized with calling their sealants "polishes" because most detailers refer to polish as a gloss enhancer prior to waxing, sealing or coating. Use of the descriptor "polish" has offered some confusion.

E93to
05-08-2016, 03:06 PM
Z5 is a sealant and 2-3 layers of that is all you need to protect your paint. Unless you like the look of the Collonite on top of the Zaino, you don't really need 4 layers of what is the equivalent of "wax".

Thanks for your input!

If I want unparalleled shine on my ca r (solid white), which process would you recommend? Would polish-glaze-wax make my car shine better?

E93to
05-08-2016, 03:15 PM
Ohh... That Zaino "polish" is actually a sealant... Gotcha.

What are some good polishes?

Would you recommend doing all four polish-glaze-sealant-wax?

Paul A.
05-08-2016, 03:15 PM
Unparalleled shine, for me, only comes with flattening my paint to level any imperfections with a machine. Swirls, scratches etc. need to be removed to let your paint reflect light perfectly. Once you've done that any LSP (last step product such as wax, sealant etc.) can be applied to protect that finish.