PDA

View Full Version : Tire shine/coating

Pages : [1] 2

lee250
05-03-2016, 01:22 AM
I'm a mechanic and I hate when cars come in with cheap tire shine that gets all over everything and is sticky. Is there something that I can put on my tires that is not sticky or that comes off when touching the tire? Will putting something on the tire help removal of mud and dirt? I live out of town and just going up and down my driveway when it rains leaves mud all over the tires. Not looking for something that is crazy shiny just something to spruce it up.

Don M
05-03-2016, 02:08 AM
Meguiars High Gloss Tire Coating (http://www.meguiars.com/en/automotive/products/g13815-hot-shine-high-gloss-tire-coating/#ADWletWfHgOOwCc2.97)

After a good scrubbing with Meg's All Wheel and Tire Cleaner, I used this stuff on the tires, it took a lot of it, but it left a low-gloss, DRY shine on my tires - more of a natural look. My tires themselves were very dried out to begin with and it literally absorbed the tire coating as it was sprayed on. It took several coat before it stopped being absorbed, then a LIGHT wipe with a clean cloth and the tires were perfect IMHO.

P.S. I haven't been able to wash my car in about 2 weeks due to rain and it seems like the rain is washing the tires clean, they don't seem to be "holding onto" the mud & dirt.

Desertnate
05-03-2016, 08:04 AM
I've not had great luck with the Hot Shine spray. It turned all of my tires brown much faster than they would on their own and didn't last very long.

Duragloss #253 has worked really well for me. It has a nice look, dries quickly, and has great durability. It takes very little product and goes a long way.

Duragloss Tire & Rubber Mat Dressing (TMD) #253 (http://www.autogeek.net/duragloss-tire---rubber-mat-dressing.html)

Setec Astronomy
05-03-2016, 08:08 AM
Ha ha, where are the coating guys? You want one of these:

McKee's 37 Tire Coating Kit (http://www.autogeek.net/dp-tire-coating-kit.html)