PDA

View Full Version : Not sure if I'm polishing correctly. Questions

captainsquirts
04-22-2016, 08:21 AM
This is my first time polishing and I'm polishing my 2006 Lancer Evolution. I read that it has single stage paint. Anywho I am using a DA polisher, hd adapt, and orage buff and shine pads. I'm applying 4 dime/or 6 pea sized portions on my orange foam pad and doing about 4 passes at 6k rpm. It probably took me about 6-7 sections to do the whole hood. When I get to the part where I wipe the haze off I'm having a hard time. Sometimes I have to really push down(kinda hard) on some spots to remove the haze.

So my main question is... Is hazing supposed to be hard to remove?
2) Am I doing to much per section?
3) Am I using the right amount of polish?
4) Is 6k rpm to high?
5) 4 passes seem like a good amount to do for each section?
6) And do you wipe off after each section or do you leave the haze on for a specific amount of time?

This is my first time so it's all a learning experience.
I do have white pads so when I try another panel on the vehicle I'm going to try that out. I did try it on the hood initially but I don't think it removed all the swirls but again I have so many small rock chip marks so when I saw those, maybe I thought the pad didn't do well(but any pad cant do anything against rock indentations..). So I'll have to give the white pads another try.

04accord
04-22-2016, 08:25 AM
are you saying the polish residue is hard to wipe off? Try misting it with quick detailer and then wiping if thats the case.

MikeC78
04-22-2016, 08:37 AM
Adapt shouldn't be hard to wipe off. Try using less product.

GSKR
04-22-2016, 08:44 AM