PDA

View Full Version : DA Upgrade Questions

Shane88
04-18-2016, 02:01 AM
I have been detailing cars as a hobby/side gig for about 1-2 years now using the Griots 6" DA. I feel like it’s time to finally break out of the shell, to invest in a higher end DA to get the job done. The Griots 6" has served me well, but I am looking into the Flex, Griots Boss, and Rupes polishers. There are so many different types of Rupes, Griots Boss, and Flex polishers on the market. The questions I have are listed below, before I make the purchase.

Which brand is "better" or easier switch from the Griots 6"?
Will the existing foam/microfiber velcro pads that I have work, or do I have to use the the manufacturers pads? (Currently own ton of 3" 4" 5" 5.5" velcro pads from various companies)
I need something smooth compared to the Griots 6", which brand?
Any "mods" or attachments that should be bought that would make life easier?
What do you guys personally use?

VISITOR
04-18-2016, 03:09 AM
since you already have the GG6, you can use that with 3"- 4" pads and get the G21 (packs plenty of power) for the larger panels (GG6 + G21 = :dblthumb2:). you can also purchase the 5" BOSS backing plate (G21 also comes with washers if desire to use them) with it and use the 5.5" pads as well which won't have any negative effects...

Griot's Garage BOSS Long-Throw Orbital Polisher System (http://www.autogeek.net/griots-garage-boss-long-throw-orbital-polisher-system.html)

http://ep.yimg.com/ay/autogeek/griots-garage-boss-g21-long-throw-orbital-polisher-1.gif
http://ep.yimg.com/ay/autogeek/griots-garage-boss-5-inch-backing-plate-1.gif

Eldorado2k
04-18-2016, 04:54 AM
Which brand is "better" or easier switch from the Griots 6"?
Will the existing foam/microfiber velcro pads that I have work, or do I have to use the the manufacturers pads? (Currently own ton of 3" 4" 5" 5.5" velcro pads from various companies)
I need something smooth compared to the Griots 6", which brand?