PDA

View Full Version : Correct wax

enventr
04-15-2016, 09:58 PM
I am a newbie and saw a few videos of the porter c. Machine. I have a C6 corvette in black and a black Lexus . I have some swirls and some very light scratches. I think I have the courage to buy the porter C. Machine . I do not know what pads to buy or what type of a mild swirl remover to use. Also a finishing polish. What would you recommend?
thank you
Dave

Don M
04-15-2016, 10:56 PM
Is there a certain line of products you're interested in, or are you open to anything? Do you want Over The Counter (OTC) or on-line ordering?

The Porter Cable is an excellent idea and there are numerous pad brands and types of pads. I personally like Meguiars Products because they are so readily available. I also use the Meguiars thin pads because I can order them by the 6-pack for ~$50

mwoolfso
04-15-2016, 11:05 PM
Best bet is a polishing kit. Something like this should be fine.

Meguiars Porter Cable Soft Buff Polishing Kit, Meguiars Soft Buff 2.0 Foam Pads, Porter Cable 7424 DA Polisher, Meguiars Mirror Glaze Kit (http://www.autogeek.net/porter-cable-soft-buff-kit.html)

AZpolisher15
04-16-2016, 12:07 AM
You might also take a look at the griots garage 6" polisher. Not much more money than the PC and it's a slightly more powerful machine. It also comes with a lifetime warranty. I was in your shoes last fall (new guy) and was urged to go for the GG6. Glad I did.

Also, being a new guy... I was turned on to AIO products (all in one). There's some really good stuff out there now that will take care of light scratches and swirls and lay down some good protection in one step (negating the need for a 2 step correction/wax). Search for HD Speed on the forum. Lots of fans.