PDA

View Full Version : Carnuba over Paint Coating?

PS90
03-29-2016, 11:51 AM
Hi. Noob here, and I apologize if this is a stupid question. My search failed to find an answer.

Just have a quick question: Is it possible/smart/effective to apply a carnuba wax over the top of a Paint Coating (McKee's 37/DP in particular)?

Will this help with protection/shine? Or will it just be counter-productive? Thanks.

Jaretr1
03-29-2016, 12:07 PM
That is an excellent question. I have heard it both ways, that in general applying a wax over a coating wont hurt the coating, and then I have also heard it can actually reduce the coatings longetivity over time. So basically I have completely failed to answer the question. I am sure others will chime in.

trekkeruss
03-29-2016, 12:08 PM
Welcome to AGO, noob.

Some people top; waxes on top of sealants, waxes on top of coatings, sealants on top of coatings. Does it help? Some people think so. I just topped my coating with sealant, because it seemed like water beading was diminishing. Then again, maybe my coating was mostly worn off (it's been over a year and I don't have a garage). Anyway, even if topping does nothing, I doubt it can hurt anything. So try it. If you think it looks better, keep doing it. If it does nothing, no harm done.

Kamakaz1961
03-29-2016, 02:18 PM
IMO I don't think it will hurt. I am in the category of a sealant topped off with a wax person. Can I tell the difference....IN MY EYES yes. Now for a coating I would GUESS it should be ok. But if you are going to apply wax over a coating....as I am assuming you enjoy waxing...why not strip the coating and apply wax? I enjoy applying sealant/wax over my ride especially now that we are coming close to detailing season. That is me.

BadgerRivFan
03-29-2016, 02:47 PM