autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Help! I made a bit of a mess with a Bigfoot

Hello,

I'd be very grateful for any advice please - I'm a novice and wanted to polish out some minor scratches from my wife's car.

I used Uno Protect and a yellow wool pad and when I finished, it looked stunning! but now - a few weeks later - I can see pad marks!!!

Could someone help me understand:

1. What I did wrong
    2. How I could have told I was doing it at the time given it looked first-class when I just did it
    3. How to avoid doing it again
    4. How to get rid of the marks now

THANK YOU VERY MUCH INDEED!
    Help! I made a bit of a mess with a Bigfoot-img_5195-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Help! I made a bit of a mess with a Bigfoot

To put it simply, I would’ve used a less aggressive pad and made more passes… Wool is pretty nuclear, I only use it when I’m trying to clear up wet sanding.
    Glen -

3. Likes oneheadlite liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

wool pad is very aggressive, definitely need to follow up with a foam pad. You might not have noticed the issues at first due to fillers in Uno Protect, once that wore off you see the true condition.

Polish again with a foam pad, either yellow foam or white if your paint is soft, then it will look much better. Make sure to use plenty of pads, many beginners think it's possible to do a whole car with 1 pad.
    Bruno Soares

5. Likes oneheadlite liked this post
    Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by Ben4 View Post

I used Uno Protect and a yellow wool pad and when I finished, it looked stunning! but now - a few weeks later - I can see pad marks!!!
    What did you use as a polisher?