autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

single stage black lacquer correction

Hi:

I'm a hobbyist with a babied garage queen '61 Cadillac with most of its original black lacquer paint. I recently completed Meguiars #7 rubdown, as described in the videos. But there are still some fine water spots visible in certain places. They are subtle, but they are there. They are perhaps best described as outlines of small water spots. Although I have not yet rewaxed the car, they have the appearance of being under a coat of wax, like you are looking through a clear film. Am I stuck with them, or is there something slightly more aggressive I can try? I did try Klasse AOI in one spot, and it did not help. I'm thinking there might be a fine polish that I can gently apply by hand to the specific trouble spots to try and help. Because of the age and potential thinness of the paint, I'm reluctant to break out the Porter Cable on this car. Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: single stage black lacquer correction

I’m sure some single stage expert will pop in but i think your going to have to machine polish. The way you explained sounds like etching.

If you use a fine polishing pad and a cleaner wax with no abrasives.... that’s what I’d start with

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

First of all, congratulations on having an original paint 61 Caddy. What a cool car and especially so with its original paint.

Obviously, there are a lot of relevant questions regarding how to proceed. Foremost being...
    - How much of the car is original paint?
    - The condition of the original paint? How salvageable is it? And to what extent/level?