autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thread: GG6 or GG3

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

GG6 or GG3

I am a new painter and just moving over from rotary buffing to DA. I will be working on soft fresh paint just to remove trash and dust nibs 95% of the time. I have the Rupes 21 for large surfaces. I am looking at either the GG3 or the GG6 with a 3" pad conversion for tighter curved and small panels. Which would you suggest? Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: GG6 or GG3

I have both of them, and I would suggest the GG6 for the extra power. The GG3 seems to be underpowered, in my opinion.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Autogeekonline mobile app

3. Likes Blaster1422 liked this post
    Mike Phillips

GG6 or GG3

I love the 3” for machine sanding with three “ discs.

I use it with the 3” and 2” backing plates with thin pads and have great results doing defect removal.

5. Thanks Blaster1422 thanked for this post
    Likes Blaster1422, dlc95 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

The 3 inch is smaller machine in size. Also when putting 3” on gg6 looks like shroud overhangs. Don’t own just saw in pictures

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

7. Likes Blaster1422 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

I have both and they are equally used. If only wanting to do smaller areas and touch-up spots the GG3 with either the 3-in or 2-in setup is great. If you watch some of the Chicago Auto Pro videos you will see them using the 3-in in several shots.

9. Likes Blaster1422, Coatingsarecrack liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like