autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Can someone explain “wash induced marring”?

I've been using a hi GSM microfiber for rinseless washes for years, Using the Gary Dean method. I have no idea who founded it and really don't care. I find it takes about 6 to 7 500 GSM towels to do a good job. I've never scratched any car I've done it on. I've been doing it for about seven years or so.
    Glen -

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by glen e View Post
    I've been using a hi GSM microfiber for rinseless washes for years, Using the Gary Dean method. I have no idea who founded it and really don't care.
    From my perspective it's simply giving credit where credit is due--when Bill first said he was using multiple wash mitts we all thought he was crazy--this was at a time when it was not entirely common for people to even launder their wash media, or drying towels.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill D View Post
    I`ve eliminated my buckets altogether as I use the foam gun and just reach for new,clean mitts during the wash session.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill D View Post
    I rarely even use wash buckets. I just switch over to a new mitt entirely frequently. I have the mitts marked inside indicating which area of the car they are designated for. I just use one pail to carry the clean mitts to the car and another pail to hold the used mitts. After that they are washed and dried.
    That last one was from Oct., 2005.