autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Ford Explorer-1st time paint sealant

Let me preface this detail and the others I will be posting with a little background info on myself. I work as a Control Room Operator in a power plant on a 12 hour rotating shift schedule. With this schedule I only work 14 out of a 28 day cycle so with the other 14 days off (7 of which are in a row) I am able to do some details on the side. It has always been a passion of mine with my vehicles and I had never done anyone elses. A lot of the guys at work kept after me to detail their vehicles since they loved the way mine vehicles shined. Finally I gave in and did one. I had a blast doing it plus I got paid ~ this was awesome. The guy was ecstatic and I did another and another and another. Well word spread and now I have as many cars as I want to do and I'm having a ball doing them thanks to so many things I have learned here. On my last 7 day break I did 9 vehicles! Well enough about me and on to the detail.

My Father in Law wanted his Eddie Bauer Explorer done and he said he wanted the paint to look "wet" when it was done. I told him that a lot of the forum members were raving about paint sealants and I had recently purchased some DP Surface Shield on a recommendation from Meghan. I said if he was willing to put it in the garage for 12 hours so it could cure properly then I would do it, plus I was dying to try it out on a vehicle since my Stealth had just 3 weeks prior had a detail with Sauveran and I didn't want to take that off if the sealant wouldn't look better. I have always been a wax man and wasn't sure about sealants.