autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Moving from PC to DeWalt DWP849X after 9 years..advice and encouragement needed

I have been buffing for 9 years with a PC. I've loved the machine, even with its limitations.

I can't explain how many black cars I have perfected over the years, including my own. I did a lot of experimenting and taking huge risks on cars that I look back on now and want to throw up thinking how stupid that idea was.

I've learned some cool tricks and I have my own way of working with CCS pads and polish combos. Took a long time to figure some stuff out but it's been extremely rewarding.

I started out doing my cars only. Then slowly took on some clients.

Recently I've met the right people who talk A LOT and I've gone from 3-4 clients a month, to 5-6 a week. I've also linked up with some used car dealerships and I've been running into a lot of auction cars. Well, if you have any experience with auction cars, you know what I'm up against. Mega swirls, mega oxidation.

I operate a little different than most. I don't offer many stages. Years ago I offered a wash/clay/wax and often I would hear remarks from others that I polished a car and left all the swirls/scratches behind. Well, I didn't polish the car - but it's impossible to fight those comments and I had a real hard time convincing people I could remove them even though I had my cars right there as proof. Now I only offer full swirl removal with an agreed upon degree of scratch removal.