autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Question First time detailing with a Hitachi SP18VA... any advice?

Newbie here... just bought a new Hitachi SP18VA Polisher/Sander for detailing my own two cars. This was before I discovered so much information online about "dual-action polishers" verses "rotary polishers". I had thought I was buying the right polisher (and in fact I may have) yet I'm reading all this stuff here and elsewhere about how dual-action polishers are really the best kind for beginners, and rotary polishers are best left for experienced users (I'm surmising here).

So... before I launch off into detailing my 2001 Eddie Bauer Ford Expedition with my Hitachi polisher, I thought I'd check with you all and see if I'm going about this the right way here.

First I might add I'm not messing with trying to sell my new Hitachi and picking up a DA polisher in its place. I'm just going to have to be careful here and learn "on the fly" so-to-speak... hopefully, it won't turn out disastrous.

I understand that I must be cautious and work in 1 sq. ft. sections at a time, keeping the speeds at or below 600 so as not to burn the paint... correct? Also... keeping the polisher moving constantly 2-3 inches every couple of seconds, correct?

Any tips, advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

I'm not looking to put my SUV in a car show... just restore the paint, get rid of any oxidation, and make it look new again, as well as protect it.

Thanks in advance for your time and anything you can offer.