autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New to detailing with PC 7424XP

Hello all. Bought myself the above mentioned buffer and some Meguires products. Ultimate compound, Ultimate polish then the NXT tech wax to finish off with. I have an 08 Titan that is Galaxy Black. With it being black it has many fine scratches and even some swirl marks from the previous owner. Is the Ultimate compound too much to start with? Im new to using the buffer and always waxed by hand but this is alot of truck and wanted to save time and my arm. I heard good things about these products on the titan forums and I have used Meguires in the past. Just looking for a little help and this looks like the right place.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New to detailing with PC 7424XP

Mike Phillips always teaches to start with the least aggressive product first.

I would try the Ultimate polish first. If you find that it is not removing the swirls and scratches to your satisfaction, then you can step up to Ultimate Compound.
    Brian

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the info. I think I am going to like this forum alot. What pad type. I have lake county orange pad and green. Should I start with green then go to orange if I need more cut? Or just start with the most cut?

Post Thanks / Like

what size pads are you using?

make sure you do a test spot. May even need to test spot several areas (heavily swirled, fine scratches) to find out the best combo for differently affected panels.
    I told my wife that a husband is like a fine wine; he gets better with age. The next day, she locked me in the cellar.
    ~Tim

Post Thanks / Like