autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mike Phillips

I didn't always detail cars...

I didn't always detail cars...

Two of the more interesting jobs I've had in my life was working as a Roughneck on an Oil Drilling Rig in Oregon looking for Natural Gas. Huge Oil Drilling Rig! When it was set up and you climbed the steel ladder to the top you would be looking down at the top of Douglass Fir Trees. That's high up!

I was even the Tower Man a couple of times, kind of scary. (no pictures)

These are Roughnecks changing section of a pipe either coming out of the hole or going into the hole. (not pictures of me but that's how we dressed)

Another time in my life I was a Scoop Operator...

This was taken a few months before I went to work for Meguiar's the second time, I was a Scoop Operator at a Willamette Industries Paper Pulp Mill, (really fun job), and I was the first disabled person the Mill and Union, brought into the organization as the norm was for people to leave missing a limb or losing their life.

A person died at the Mill on average every two years. It was a real challenge as the job was very "Blue Collar", as in very physically strenuous. My nickname at the Mill was Crash, (don't ask), when I got my Union Card and switched from a White Hard Hat to the Orange Hard Hat you seen in the picture, they put the name Crash on it. LOL (I still have the Hard Hat)

I don't mind working hard, whatever the task but my true passions are,

• Detailing cars
    • Showing others how to detail cars

2. Thanks Aaryn NZ, Dan Tran thanked for this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: I didn't always detail cars...