autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Short List of Add-on Profit Averages

Intro (skip down for the question):

I'm a newbie, just doing the research on starting my own detailing business as a side business. I've owned a web development firm for 15 years, and do pretty well, but cars are my passion, and I'm tired of sitting behind my desk all day (plus with the economy, always looking for ways to supplement the income.)

I have a pretty good background in the basics for car care and detailing, just need to hone my skills. I can do body work, paint, etc. I'm actually finishing up my Cobra project this winter (KD's FFR Roadster Build), and I'm neck deep in body work right now, hope to shoot paint before Spring.

I've read a bunch of the threads about different aspects of starting up. I'm still trying to decide if I want to go mobile or not, and if I can use my own home 1200' shop (well outfitted, but we live 8 miles out.) The shop is nice because no "big brother" to nose around and give me a hard time about waste water, a few fumes, etc., but it's too far out for customer entry (I'd have to valet anything.)

Question:

My biggest question mark right not is which services to start with as add ons. You've got windshield repair (big here due to the rock chips), paint repair, carpet dyeing, minor body work and paint, wheel repair, clear bra, and maybe boats and planes (I live 9 miles from the airport.)

Obviously, each of these add on's come with their own costs. If I'm doing paint repair, I need a kit to do the colors, same thing with wheel repair, leather/vinyl, etc.